Fallasburg Village was founded in the 1830’s by pioneer John Wesley Fallass. Today’s pioneer Village includes 42 acres along the banks of the Flat River, our covered bridge and one-room schoolhouse, a Village cemetery, the Fallas House and Misner House museums, and the Orlin Douglass/Tower Farm. Fallasburg Village was designated a “Historical District” with the National Register of Historic Places on March 31, 1999.
Come explore and learn about the history of Fallasburg and the pioneers who made the Village their home! The schoolhouse is open most Sundays, June through September 2pm-4pm or by appointment.
The Village Features:
Our 1867 one-room schoolhouse is the signature museum of the Fallasburg Historical Society. The building remained a functioning school until 1961. Currently it serves as a venue for FHS events throughout the year.
The Fallas House was built by John Wesley Fallas and his brothers, Silas and Arad, in 1842. John Wesley Fallas and his wife, Phoebe Brown Fallas lived in the house their entire lives. The Fallas House now serves as an FHS museum that showcases Fallas Family documents, pictures, and artifacts.
The replica of the David Misner House that stands today was originally built for Misner in 1850. It is the most complete FHS museum in Fallasburg Village. It houses the memorabilia collection.
The Orlin Douglass/Tower Farm was built by Douglass in 1850. It was later acquired by the Tower’s. In 1896, the right half of the farmhouse was moved from a nearby location so that sister-in-law’s, Tower and Steketee, could live together with their families. The house is currently under repair. The barn recently underwent restoration and was named “Barn of the Year, 2014” by the Michigan Barn Preservation Network.
The Fallasburg post office was the home of John M. Waters, the postmaster in 1851. The post office was in operation until 1901.
The old Fallasburg Inn was probably built in the 1840s, as a resting place for those traveling from Grand Rapids to Ionia, or the reverse. It served food and provided a bed for the travelers. Now it is a private residence.
Parsonage Ruins – While the Fallasburg Methodist Episcopal Church met in the schoolhouse, the residents of Fallasburg were still able to provide a parsonage for their minister. The year built is unknown, but the land was deeded to the church by John Wesley in 1851.
When it's time to take down a tyrant, sometimes you have to be a little bit naughty. Enjoy the world premiere of our new teaser ad! Matilda: The Musical opens on February 28th!Tickets: grct.org | 616-222-6650
Thank you to our volunteers! We’re always looking for volunteers to paint, patch, power wash, and preen properties….and more!
INTERESTED IN BECOMING A FALLASBURG HISTORICAL SOCIETY MEMBER? The Fallasburg Historical Society exists for the purpose of preserving, restoring, and maintaining Fallasburg Village. We encourage public support through education, sharing of information, and as hosts of numerous events. Help preserve our history by becoming a Fallasburg Historical Society member. CLICK HERE TO JOIN TODAY!
Schoolhouse Open Most Sundays, June – September, 2 – 4PM or By Appointment – CLOSED due to COVID-19 until further notice.
Fallasburg Historical Society
13944 Covered Bridge Road, NE
Lowell, MI 49331 email@example.com
Schoolhouse Open Most Sundays, June – September, 2 – 4PM or By Appointment